Who Are We and our Patrons?

Who are behind Sallins Inquiry Now
Sallins Inquiry Now is a campaign directed by members of the family of Osgur Breatnach.
The campaign aims are supported by Nicky Kelly and Brian McNally, who were tortured and framed alongside Osgur.
Irish Supreme Court Justice Adrian HardimanAmnesty InternationalThe Irish Council for Civil Liberties … Ex and sitting Presidents … Mary MacAleese, Mary Robinson, Michael D Higgins … Adviser to Irish Council of State, Michael Farrell … Singer/Songwriter Christy Moore … Ex UN Assistant General Secretary Dennis Halliday … Musician Donal Lunny … Law Professor Kent University Dermot Walsh … Actor Donal O’Kelly … Musician Keith Donald … Chair of European (CCBE) Criminal Law Committee, solicitor James MacGuill … Retired Judge Pat McCartan … Poet Paula Meehan … Film and TV director/producer Lelia Doolan…South African Minister and ICCL founder Kadar Asmal… Birminham Six (Hugh Callaghan, Patrick Joseph Hill, Gerard Hunter, Richard McIlkenny, William Power, John Walker)… Guildford Four (Paul Hill, Gerry Conlon, Paddy Armstrong, Carole Richardson)…ex Philippine hostage Fr. Niall O’Brien… UN consultants International Association of Democratic LawyersInternational Commission of Jurists… author MP Chris Mullen… musician Tony McMahon Irish Congress of Trade Unions Fr. Donal O’Carroll Papal Nuncio Archbishop Alibrandi… performer Mick Hanley… author Tim Pat CooganBrehon Law Society USAAfrican Commission on Human and Peoples’ RightsChristian Association for Abolition of TortureInternational Commission of Jurists, GenevaAssociation for Legal JusticeIrish Transport and General Workers’ Union Aux Bishop J. Kavanagh …… Human Rights lawyer Paul O’Dwyer USA…Irish Commission for Justice and Peace… ex-US Attorney General Ramsey Clarke…Human Rights activists Berrigan Brothers, Frs. Raymond Murray, Des Wilson… actor Niall Toibín… actor Mick Lally…actor Cyril Cusack…actor Brendan Gleeson…actress Finuala Flanagan…comedian and actor Niall Tóibín…broadcaster Gay ByrneLiberty UKCardinal O’FiaichMaitre Antoine Comte, ParisHuman Rights Watch, London … Syndicat De Magistrature Judge E Bloch … Lawyer, Le Droit DeL’Homme Paul Bykaerk … RHA Yann Goulet … MRIAI Uinseann MacEoin … Journalist Brendan O Cathaoir … Comhalachas Daon Scoil Brendan O Cearbhaill … MAC Dr Dermot McDermot
Above are only some of the broad international spectrum of legal, political, human rights, trade unionists, religious figures, artists and personalities concerned about the case….


Campaign Patrons

We would like to thank the following for consenting to act as patrons for the campaign:

Denis J Halliday. Ex- UN Humanitarian Coordinator in Iraq. Ex- UN Deputy Resident Representative to Singapore for UN Development Programme. Economics, Geography and Public Administration MA. Recipient Gandhi International Peace Award.

Christy Moore. Singer, musician, songwriter. 

Cormac Ó Dulacháin. Senior Counsel. B.Ed, BL, ACIArb, MII, Mediation (Harvard).  

Donal Lunny, musician, producer, actor, writer, playwright.

Donal O’Kelly. Award winning actor, playwright.   

James Macguill. Snr Vice- President  Council of Bars and Law Societies of Europe (CCBE); ex-chair Anti Money Laundering Task Force; ex- President of the Law Society;  chair of Criminal Law Committee of the CCBE. Nominated to serve on many Government bodies  including working groups/task forces on Legal Aid, Jurisdiction of the Criminal Courts, National Crime Forum, Interviewing of Suspects, and the Judicial Appointments Advisory Board. Member of  Legal Services Regulatory Authority.

Judge Pat McCartan. Ex- Circuit Court judge, ex- politician, solicitor in Sallins Case.  

Keith Donald. Musician, playwright, writer.  

Leila Doolan. Film Director, Producer, ex- Director Abbey Theatre,  founder Director Galway Film Fleadh, ex-chairperson of the Irish Film Board.

Michael Farrell. Solicitor. Member Irish Council of State. Member European Commission Against Racism and Intolerance. Ex- internee, ex- Northern Ireland Civil Rights Association, ex-chair Irish Counsel for Civil Liberties, ex-member Irish Human Rights Commission

Paddy Hayes. Producer, Director,  Multimedia Masters Degree, BA Communications, MsC multimedia Systems, Magamedia.

Paula Meehan. Poet,  playwright, Master of Fine Arts,  ex- Ireland Professor of Poetry.

Prof Dermot PJ Walsh.LLB. Lawyer, author, University Lecturer.  Professor of Law at Kent University. Member of the Royal Irish Academy.  Former President of the Irish Association of Law Teachers. Specialises in policing, criminal procedure and EU criminal law.

Raymond Keane. Award- winning actor, writer, director, playright, Irish National Opera, Theatre Co. director.